Top city lawyers named to tourism committee

East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism Cabinet Secretary Phyllis Kandie has formed a Consultative Tourism Recovery Strategy Committee to examine the challenges facing Kenya’s tourism industry.

One of the major issues to be addressed by the nine-member committee is insecurity which she said has in the recent past posed a threat to the industry.

Insecurity has resulted in low occupancy statistics, a reduction in charter flights into Mombasa, key exit survey findings and concerned stakeholders, who have given voice to their concerns at various fora.

In pursuit of this, the new committee is expected to propose strategies on the way forward for the industry, guided by the ministry’s strategic plan and tourism master plan.

The committee members include, Chairperson Kenya Tourism Federation, Lucy Karume, Kenya Association of Hotel Keepers and Caterers Chairman Jaideep S. Vohra, Chairman of Kenya Association of Tour Operators Adam Jillo and Kenya Tourism Board Managing Director Muriithi Ndegwa.

Others include Chris Modigell who will represent South Coast Stakeholders, Roberto Marini representing Malindi Stakeholders, Philemon Mwavala to represent Watamu Stakeholders. Others are Nairobi lawyers Donald Kipkorir and Cecil Miller who will represent non-tourism stakeholders.

The committee will have its first meeting on Thursday in Nairobi.

Article published by CAPITAL FM BUSINESS on January 23, 2014